» »Flight Ban To Kolkata From Six COVID Hotspots Till July 31

Flight Ban To Kolkata From Six COVID Hotspots Till July 31

The brief restriction on arriving flights to Kolkata Airport from 6 cities Delhi, Pune, Mumbai, Chennai, Nagpur and Ahmedabad has been extended up to July 31. As per the verified Twitter handle of Kolkata Airport, the ban has been forced as per the request of the State Government to regulate movement from cities with a high number of coronavirus cases to check the spread of COVID-19.


The ban, which was first declared on July 4 was initially announced for the span between July 6 to July 19. The six cities have a heavy load of coronavirus cases and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had earlier written to the Center seeking suspension of flight services to and from these places.

The ban by the Kolkata Airport comes after aviation regulator DGCA continued the suspension of listed international passenger flights in the country till indefinite period. However, Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Singh Puri has stated that India govt has partnered with various countries including France, Germany and the US to create bilateral air bubbles.


After almost two months of suspension to combat the coronavirus pandemic, the government resumed scheduled domestic passenger flights on May 25. However, it had enabled airlines to operate a maximum of 32 per cent of their pre-COVID flights. The MOCA increased the limits on June 26 from 32 per cent to 44 per cent.

Read more about: coronavirus flights kolkata
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X