» »COVID-19 Travel Updates: Countries That Have Banned India Due To Spike In COVID Cases

COVID-19 Travel Updates: Countries That Have Banned India Due To Spike In COVID Cases

Multiple nations have declared severe restraints on Indian tourists and travellers and those who have spent time in India recently. Here is the latest:

Germany has blocked nearly all travel from India for now. It will only allow German nationals or passengers holding German residency permits to enter the country. Even these persons will have to produce a negative COVID report before departure and undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine upon arrival. While this rule also applies to those travelling to Schengen destinations via Germany, transit to non-Schengen destinations is allowed for all nationalities.

The Maldives has not banned travel from India, contrary to reports. Yes, it has restricted tourists from visiting its inhabited islands.

Like German, only Italian residents are allowed entry Italy from India, that too after clearing a COVID test before departure. They will have quarantine on arrival. All other foreign travellers who have been in India in the preceding 14 days are banned from entering Italy.


No passengers travelling from India via land will be allowed to enter Bangladesh from April 26 for the next 14 days. Air travel to Bangladesh has been suspended since 14 April.

France has imposed a mandatory 10-day quarantine for passengers arriving from India. The air bubble between India and France connects Paris to Mumbai, Bengaluru and Delhi.

The United Kingdom has banned most travel from India starting Friday, 23 April. The UK has placed India on its Red List, which means travellers will be denied entry if they have been in India in the past 10 days. Exceptions will be made for British and Irish passport-holders and UK residents. Flights have not officially been suspended-and technically, you can fly into India. But Air India has cancelled all ops between India and the UK till 30 April.

Oman is currently not accepting any passengers from India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. Anyone who has been in these countries in the preceding 14 days won't be permitted to enter till further notice.

UAE has also restricted travel from India till Monday, 3 May. Indians won't be allowed to enter through any other country either. However, flights from Dubai to India will be permitted, while on the way back, there may be concessions for UAE nationals.

Hong Kong
After more than 45 passengers on a single flight tested positive for COVID, Hong Kong has suspended all flights from India till 3 May. The restrictions may also apply to anyone who has been in India in recent days, though the exact period is to be confirmed.

Singapore has barred anyone who has been to India over the past 14 days from visiting or even transiting through the country. This includes long-term pass holders. Those who have come in already and are still serving their 14-day stay-home requirement will now have to spend another seven days in a dedicated facility.
Even those countries that have very restricted flight connections with India are being cautious. New Zealand is not letting anyone into their country if they have been in India recently-not even their own citizens. Australia is cutting back on the few flights there.

However the USA
The US Embassy in India said, "US citizens who wish to depart India should take advantage of available commercial transportation options now. Direct flights between India and the United States are offered daily, with additional flight options available to US citizens via transfers in Paris and Frankfurt."

Read more about: coronavirus flight
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X